Home Contacts Blogs Photos EVENTS TOP USERS ABOUT
Posted: Thursday, August 26, 2010 - 1 comment(s) [ Comment ] - 0 trackback(s) [ Trackback ]

 

It all started with this email:
 
Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2010 06:20:18 +0200
To: -=my email=-
Subject: GoTranslators - There is Spanish teacher job opportunity in your State
From: arial.company@gmail.com



----------------------
MESSAGE DIRECTLY SENT
BY CLICKING YOUR MAIL LINK
[Private and unchecked mailing!]


Sender IP: 77.235.31.143 [Port: 1124]
Date: 22/07/2010 - 06H20 [BE time]
(Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1) / ru)
---------------------- Sender : Marina Mouline (arial.company@gmail.com) Recipient : Samiris  (my email) Attachment : --- ---   Subject : GoTranslators - There is Spanish teacher job opportunity in your State   Good morning!
There is Spanish teacher job opportunity in your State. If you interested, send please your CV. You don`t need to pay .
Best regards,
Arial linguistic company 
 
 
Short. Simple. Direct.
Looked innocent enough.
Too innocent for me if you know me.
And they don't and neither do I know them.
 
Some things grabbed my attention:
  • No specifed "State".
  • "There is Spanish..." not the correct "There is *A* Spanish...."
  • "If you interested..." instead of "If you *ARE* interested..."
  • "Send please your CV" ...more worser grammar rules here are, Yoda!
  • "You don t have to pay"... well, the idea is I get paid anyway, right? and
  • "Don t " suddenly has become a French term?

It's official: it's an official spoof.

But just by my standards...So I send it to the 'service' I received it .:from:. 

 

INVESTIGATION

 

From: Samiris Ortiz
Sent: Monday, August 23, 2010 11:47 PM
Subject: Confirmation of company/email authenticity.
 
Greetings!

I received the following on Monday August 23, 2010. Please help me confirm the authenticity of this sender.

I have not found any information on a company with this name nor have I received an email in this manner.
Thank you for your amazing website!
Samiris

(copy of above email in its entirety)


 

 

 

RESPONSE
 
Dear Samiris,
 
Astonishing...
This "client" uses a kyrgysian server!
inetnum:         77.235.29.0 - 77.235.31.255netname:         MEGALINEdescr:           P2Pcountry:         KGadmin-c:         YA446-RIPEtech-c:          YA446-RIPEstatus:          ASSIGNED PAmnt-by:          MNT-NETCOMKGsource:          RIPE # Filtered
person:          Aleksandr Yunaddress:         Rozakova str. 55address:         720000, Bishkek, Kyrgyzstane-mail:          yunsasha@megaline.kgphone:           +996312627848
Beware...
Best regards,
Luc Destruvaux(support@gotranslators.com)  GoTranslatorsis a division ofWeb-Refer SPRLRue E. Vandervelde 30,5140 LignyBELGIUM

 

 

 

BE CAREFUL OUT THERE!!!

Delicious Digg Facebook Fark MySpace